6 Nigerian political warriors who contested and won presidential elections - SUCCESSFUL PEOPLE MAGAZINE


Friday, November 24, 2023

6 Nigerian political warriors who contested and won presidential elections

6 Nigerian political warriors who contested and won  presidential elections.

By Charles Segun Adegbite

In this first episode of Successful People, we bring to you six notable Nigeria politicians who contested and won  presidential election in their first attempt.

No.1 Alhaji Shehu Shagari. He was the first executive president of Nigeria between 1979 and 1983. He contested in 1979 for the first time under the platform of National Party of Nigeria (NPN) and won. He re-contested in 1983 and won again; although not without some controversies over the victory.

No.2: Bashorun Moshood Kasimawo Olawale Abiola.
This late business mogul contested for president in 1993 and won in a landslide victory. It was his first attempt. Unfortunately, the election was annulled by the military president then.
Of course, the cancellation was rejected by most Nigerians until and plunged the nation into a prolonged political crisis. He was posthumously recognized as the winner of the election 25years after his victory and 20years after his death.

No.3: Chief Olusegun Obasanjo. This retired military general and former Nigeria Head of State, contested presidential election in 1999 and won, the first time he attempted it, under the platform of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.
    After finishing his first term of four years, he also re-contested and won in 2003.

No.4, Alhaji Umaru Musa Yar'Adua
This former governor of Katsina State contested and won presidential election in 2007, the first time he attempted it, under the platform of the PDP.
  Unfortunately, he couldn't finish his first term tenure as the president before he died of a protracted illness in May 2010.

No.5: Dr Goodluck Ebele Jonathan
This luckiest Nigeria politician was the former Vice President to the late Umar Musa Yar'Adua, who succeeded the president after his death.
He however contested in 2011 for the first time and won; although he was the incumbent president then, who was completing his joint tenure of Yar'Adua's first term.
To retain the power he re-contested in 2015 and lost, thereby becoming the first Nigeria incumbent president to lose power via election.

No. 6: Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu.
This consummate politician and former senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, contested  the 2023 presidential election presidential election of 2023 and won.
   It was his first time of running for president and 20years after he contested his last election as governor of Lagos State.

   Watch out for another episode of Successful People.

No comments:

Post a Comment